Debian-news is about one simple thing - news about Debian GNU/Linux and the top free distributions based on Debian GNU/Linux.


 

Coordinated effort to update python packages

Raphael Hertzog has announced that the large work of updating python packages has begun and that your help is needed.
Hello,

the Python team has agreed on a new policy [1]. As we want to do the
python 2.4 transition now, we need to make sure the packages match the
policy. This will limit the amount of broken packages when python2.4 will
become the default and will smooth this transition.

So please check in the list at the end of this mail if you're concerned,
and if yes, please update your packages following these instructions:
http://wiki.debian.org/DebianPython/NewPolicy
http://people.debian.org/~piman/python-policy/

If you don't have time to do this now, please reply on
debian-python@lists.debian.org and allow us to make NMU of your packages.
You could also take this opportunity to start maintaining the packages
within the team, see http://python-modules.alioth.debian.org/. We'll
gladly add you to the team, just request it on the mailing list.

In any case, a relaxed NMU policy has been authorized by the release
managers. On thursday we will start NMUing packages in this list. In the
mean time, we'll start with packages whose maintainers are listed on
http://wiki.debian.org/LowThresholdNmu and with the package of the team!

We will need your help to update such a large body of packages, please
join #debian-python and help out. We'll use a wiki page to coordinate the
work: http://wiki.debian.org/DebianPython/BSP
If you can take care of your own package, please indicate it the wiki
page as well.

For NMUers, always start by filling a bug report refering to this
announce, register the bug number and your intent to work on it in the
wiki page, do the work, send the patch to the BTS and upload the package
appropriately (using a DELAYED queue if needed).

For any question, please ask on debian-python@lists.debian.org or on
#debian-python (OFTC).

[1] http://lists.debian.org/debian-devel-announce/2006/06/msg00008.html
and http://meetings-archive.debian.net/pub/debian-meetings/2006/debconf6/theora-small/2006-05-15/hacklab/Python_BoF_part_1-Andi_Barth.ogg

Beware: there may be false positives in this list as it has been generated
by doing a list of sources packages that are generating a binary package
starting with “python-” and which do not have the new Python-Version
control field.

Marc Dequènes (Duck) <Duck@DuckCorp.org>
cerealizer
editobj
genetic
py2play
pyopenal
soya
soya-doc
tofu

APT Development Team <deity@lists.debian.org>
python-apt

Cosimo Alfarano <kalfa@debian.org>
jabber.py

Jan Alonzo <jmalonzo@unpluggable.com>
pmock

Francesc Altet <faltet@carabos.com>
pytables

Tom Cato Amundsen <tca@debian.org>
python-orbit

Domenico Andreoli <cavok@debian.org>
python-crack

Kumar Appaiah <akumar@ee.iitm.ac.in>
python-goopy

Ernesto Nadir Crespo Avila <ecrespo@debianvenezuela.org>
pyxmms

Julien BLACHE <jblache@debian.org>
libieee1284

Sebastien Bacher <seb128@debian.org>
gnome-menus
gnome-python
gnome-python-extras
pygtk
pyorbit
pyxdg

Michael Banck <mbanck@debian.org>
python-cddb
python-id3

Dima Barsky <dima@debian.org>
python-pam

Dave Beckett <dajobe@debian.org>
pycairo

Philipp Benner <mail@philipp-benner.de>
python-biopython

Bastian Blank <waldi@debian.org>
python-omniorb2

Debian Bluetooth <pkg-bluetooth-maintainers@lists.alioth.debian.org>
pybluez

Ed Boraas <ed@debian.org>
pygame
python-kinterbasdb
python-soappy

Raphael Bossek <bossekr@debian.org>
python-4suite

A. Maitland Bottoms <bottoms@debian.org>
vtk

Jeremy T. Bouse <jbouse@debian.org>
paramiko

Paul Brossier <piem@debian.org>
pyrex

Ben Burton <bab@debian.org>
python-pgsql

Ross Burton <ross@debian.org>
kid
nautilus-python

Antal A. Buss <abuss@puj.edu.co>
python-simpy

Christopher L Cheney <ccheney@debian.org>
pyao
pyogg
pyvorbis

Jesus Climent <jesus.climent@hispalinux.es>
clearsilver

Robert Collins <robertc@robertcollins.net>
opensync

Debian OpenOffice Team <debian-openoffice@lists.debian.org>
openoffice.org

Debian Qt/KDE Maintainers <debian-qt-kde@lists.debian.org>
kdebindings

Sebastien Delafond <seb@debian.org>
python-fuse
python-libgmail

Cédric Delfosse <cedric@debian.org>
diacanvas2
python-clamav

Yann Dirson <dirson@debian.org>
tau

Patrick Dreker <patrick@dreker.org>
dnspython
pyxmpp

Dirk Eddelbuettel <edd@debian.org>
rpy

Fabian Fagerholm <fabbe@debian.org>
albatross

Alexandre Fayolle <afayolle@debian.org>
constraint
logilab-common
psyco
python-unit

Bartosz Fenski <fenio@debian.org>
pystatgrab

José Fonseca <j_r_fonseca@yahoo.co.uk>
python-f2py
python-scipy
python-scipy-core

Arnaud Fontaine <arnaud@andesi.org>
impacket
pcapy
ply
pyasn1
pyme
python-medusa

Decklin Foster <decklin@red-bean.com>
beautifulsoup
py-libmpdclient

Gustavo Franco <stratus@debian.org>
pyspf

Gerfried Fuchs <alfie@debian.org>
libmetakit2.4.9.3

Radovan Garabik <garabik@melkor.dnp.fmph.uniba.sk>
python-uncertainities

Radovan Garabík <garabik@kassiopeia.juls.savba.sk>
python-utmp

David Gil <dgil@telefonica.net>
python-adodb

Bjorn Ove Grotan <bgrotan@grotan.com>
python-smbpasswd

Debian QA Group <packages@qa.debian.org>
libmusicbrainz-2.1
python-gnome
python-tclink

Debian XML/SGML Group <debian-xml-sgml-pkgs@lists.alioth.debian.org>
libxml2
libxslt

Christoph Haas <haas@debian.org>
python-iplib

Peter Hawkins <peterh@debian.org>
htmlgen
libapache-mod-python
python-adns
python-biggles

Kai Hendry <hendry@iki.fi>
webpy

Johannes Jordens <j.jordens@ucl.ac.uk>
pygtkmvc

Robert Jordens <jordens@debian.org>
gpib
libtunepimp
syck

Takuo KITAME <kitame@debian.org>
python-japanese-codecs

Georges Khaznadar <georgesk@ofset.org>
wxglade

Martin Kittel <debian@martin-kittel.de>
maxdb-7.5.00

Bastian Kleineidam <calvin@debian.org>
optcomplete

Matthias Klose <doko@debian.org>
gadfly
lxml
pycxx
pygresql
pysvn
python-central
python-davlib
python-defaults
python-extclass
python-gnuplot
python-happydoc
python-mode
python-pmw
python-scientific
python-setuptools
python-stats
qm
slides
sqlrelay
twisted
twisted-conch
twisted-lore
twisted-mail
twisted-names
twisted-news
twisted-runner
twisted-web
twisted-web2
twisted-words

Steve Kowalik <stevenk@debian.org>
python-gendoc

Anand Kumria <wildfire@progsoc.org>
urlgrabber

Rafael Laboissiere <rafael@debian.org>
plplot

Chris Lawrence <lawrencc@debian.org>
foomatic-gui
python-bibtex
python-pqueue

Ron Lee <ron@debian.org>
wxwidgets2.6
wxwindows2.4

Carlos Z.F. Liu <carlosliu@users.sourceforge.net>
pychm

Martin v. Loewis <martin@v.loewis.de>
python-fam

Ana Beatriz Guerrero Lopez <ana@ekaia.org>
empy

Jan Luebbe <jluebbe@lasnet.de>
python-pysnmp2

Martin v. Löwis <martin@v.loewis.de>
python-xlib

Uli Martens <uli@youam.net>
python-pymetar

Adam D. McKenna <adam@debian.org>
tmda

Alastair McKinstry <mckinstry@debian.org>
newt

Ricardo Javier Cardenes Medina <rcardenes@debian.org>
python-kde3
python-qt3
python-textile
sip-qt3
sip4-qt3

Matthijs Mohlmann <matthijs@cacholong.nl>
python-pyrss2gen

Josselin Mouette <joss@debian.org>
python-geoip
python-support

Francisco Moya <francisco.moya@uclm.es>
zeroc-ice-python

Ramakrishnan Muthukrishnan <rkrishnan@debian.org>
gnuradio-core

Alexey Nezhdanov <snakeru@users.sourceforge.net>
python-irclib
python-xmpp

Hans Ulrich Niedermann <debian@n-dimensional.de>
pyinotify

Piotr Ozarowski <ozarow@gmail.com>
paste
pastedeploy
pyenchant
routes

Vittorio Palmisano <vpalmisano@gmail.com>
matplotlib

Guilherme de S. Pastore <guilherme.pastore@terra.com.br>
subversion

Guilherme de S. Pastore <gpastore@debian.org>
vte

Guilherme de S. Pastore <gpastore@colband.com.br>
gnupginterface

Ben Pfaff <pfaffben@debian.org>
python-gd

Michael Piefel <piefel@debian.org>
file

Iustin Pop <iusty@k1024.org>
python-pylibacl
python-pyxattr

Debian GIS Project <pkg-grass-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>
gdal
mapserver

Kenneth J. Pronovici <pronovic@debian.org>
epydoc
pythoncard

Ganesan Rajagopal <rganesan@debian.org>
clientcookie
ctypes
fixedpoint
pexpect

Rogerio Reis <rvr@debian.org>
yappy

Michelle Ribeiro <michelle@cipsga.org.br>
python-dhm

Simon Richter <sjr@debian.org>
python-imaging-doc-handbook

Santiago Ruano Rincón <santiago@debian.org>
python-pychart

Steve M. Robbins <smr@debian.org>
pyvtk

Joel Rosdahl <joel@debian.org>
egenix-mx-base
python-apsw
python-pysqlite1.1
python-pysqlite2
python-sqlite

Andreas Rottmann <rotty@debian.org>
python-crypto

Ludovic Rousseau <rousseau@debian.org>
pilot-link

Changwoo Ryu <cwryu@debian.org>
python-cjkcodecs

Guilherme Salgado <salgado@async.com.br>
codespeak-lib

Otavio Salvador <otavio@debian.org>
python-cdd

Seo Sanghyeon <tinuviel@sparcs.kaist.ac.kr>
simpleparse

David Schleef <ds@schleef.org>
comedilib

Tristan Seligmann <mithrandi@mithrandi.za.net>
zsi

Gustavo Noronha Silva <kov@debian.org>
configobj
json-py
kiwi
python-cherrypy

Martin Sjogren <sjogren@debian.org>
pyopenssl

Jonas Smedegaard <dr@jones.dk>
moin
pygdchart2
python-gdchart
python-visual
python-weblib

Igor Stroh <jenner@debian.org>
python-gtk2-doc
python-gtk2-tutorial
python-reportlab
simpletal
utidylib

Brian Sutherland <jinty@web.de>
python-clientform
python-mechanize
python-pullparser
python-tcpwrap
python-tz

Sergio Talens-Oliag <sto@debian.org>
python-htmltmpl

Debian Boost Team <pkg-boost-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>
boost

Debian Python Modules Team <python-modules-team@lists.alioth.debian.org>
celementtree
elementtidy
elementtree
forgethtml
forgetsql
ipy
libapache2-mod-python
pyfits
python-dsv
python-markdown
python-mysqldb
urwid

Progeny Debian Packaging Team <debian-packages@progeny.com>
configlet
python-parted

Debian Hebrew Packaging Team <debian-hebrew-package@lists.alioth.debian.org>
pyfribidi

Debian/Ubuntu Zope Team <pkg-zope-developers@lists.alioth.debian.org>
python-xml
zope3

Sylvain Thenault <sylvain.thenault@logilab.fr>
logilab-astng

Fabio Tranchitella <kobold@debian.org>
psycopg
python-formencode
sqlobject

Mohammed Adnène Trojette deb@diwi.org>
cubictemp

Junichi Uekawa <dancer@debian.org>
ecasound2.2

Matthias Urlichs <smurf@debian.org>
python-docutils

Matej Vela <vela@debian.org>
python-ldap

Tommi Virtanen <tv@debian.org>
eunuchs
ldaptor
nevow
pyparsing
python-osd
python-oss
simplejson
sqlalchemy
webut

Chad Walstrom <chewie@debian.org>
cheetah

Joerg Wendland <joergland@debian.org>
python-dns

Jamie Wilkinson <jaq@debian.org>
pymad
pyopengl

Graham Wilson <graham@debian.org>
pyx

Alexander Wirt <formorer@debian.org>
eyed3

Lars Wirzenius <liw@iki.fi>
python-licosmamo

Joe Wreschnig <piman@debian.org>
feedparser
gst-python
gst0.10-python
mutagen

Matt Zimmerman <mdz@debian.org>
rrdtool

martin f. krafft <madduck@debian.org>
libhid
libphidgets

Sam Hocevar (Debian packages) deb@zoy.org>
opencv

Michal Čihař <michal@cihar.com>
python-gammu

– Raphaël Hertzog Premier livre français sur Debian GNU/Linux : http://www.ouaza.com/livre/admin-debian/

No Response to “Coordinated effort to update python packages” »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Debian-News is not related to the Debian Project.
All logos and trademarks on this site are property of their respective owners.