Debian-news is about one simple thing - news about Debian GNU/Linux and the top free distributions based on Debian GNU/Linux.


 

News from the python policy transition

Here's and update from Raphael Hertzog on the python module transition.
Hello,

I know some maintainers have decided to wait before converting their
packages to the new Python policy since the Python infrastructure has been
evolving at fast pace before the transition announce and even a few days
after. This is now over, the infrastructure is in place and will even move
to testing RSN. Once that is done the new python-defaults will be uploaded
(hopefully by the end of this week) and will break packages not yet
updated.

So you don't have any excuse to not update your packages any more. About
60% of the Python modules have already been updated, but 109 are
left to be done:
http://bugs.debian.org/from:madcoder-python-transition@debian.org

The bugs have been filled two weeks ago, it is now time to NMU the
remaining packages where the maintainer didn't gave any update plan
in the bug report. We need your help for that.

We also have many python applications (or badly packaged modules which
have not been caught by the first mass-bug filing) that have a dependency
“python (<< 2.4)" and that needs to be updated as well. Please find the
list below (~150 packages). The maintainers concerned have to follow the
same instructions than the maintainers of modules/extensions:
http://wiki.debian.org/DebianPython/NewPolicy

Please look for your name (or your team) in the list below and start
updating those as well! (The reason why no bugs have been filled is that a
simple sourceful update with the new python-defaults (only in experimental
right now) would suffice to fix the dependency in most cases and that we
could update them to the new policy over time)
http://people.debian.org/~hertzog/python/apps_to_update.dd-list

This list is all the sources packages generating at least one binary which
still have the “python (<< 2.4)" dependency and which did not appear in
the first list of packages to update.

Loic Dachary (OuoU) <loic@debian.org>
poker-network

J.H.M. Dassen (Ray) <jdassen@debian.org>
gdesklets-data (U)

Masayuki Hatta (mhatta) <mhatta@debian.org>
blender (U)

Ben Armstrong <synrg@sanctuary.nslug.ns.ca>
xpilot-ng

Sebastien Bacher <seb128@debian.org>
gdeskcal
gdesklets-data (U)
lfm
mboxcheck-applet
rubrica

Michael Banck <mbanck@debian.org>
jack
pymol

Dima Barsky <dima@debian.org>
m2crypto
xkeysw

Brian Bassett <brianb@debian.org>
blogtk

Daniel Baumann <daniel.baumann@panthera-systems.net>
libextractor-python
pyslide
rdiff-backup
skencil

Emmanuel Beffara <manu@beffara.org>
rubber

Christoph Berg <myon@debian.org>
pycocuma

Bastian Blank <waldi@debian.org>
omniorb4
xen-3.0 (U)

Jérémy Bobbio <jeremy.bobbio@etu.upmc.fr>
papercut

Ed Boraas <ed@debian.org>
gdesklets-data (U)

A. Maitland Bottoms <bottoms@debian.org>
mayavi

Fathi Boudra <fboudra@free.fr>
pykdeextensions (U)

Jeremy T. Bouse <jbouse@debian.org>
gcipher
xen-3.0 (U)

Rob Bradford <rob@debianplanet.org>
gdesklets-data (U)

Marc 'HE' Brockschmidt <he@debian.org>
gdesklets-data (U)

Mark Brown <broonie@debian.org>
scons

Luca Bruno <luca.br@uno.it>
istanbul

Daniel Burrows <dburrows@debian.org>
musiclibrarian

Ben Burton <bab@debian.org>
snappea

Ross Burton <ross@debian.org>
gdesklets-data (U)
meld

Jesus Climent <jesus.climent@hispalinux.es>
trac

Robert Collins <robertc@robertcollins.net>
bicyclerepair

Gerardo Curiel <gcuriel@debianvenezuela.org>
gnome-btdownload

Vincent Danjean <Vincent.Danjean@ens-lyon.org>
commit-tool

Julien Danjou <acid@debian.org>
mbot
svnmailer
xen-3.0 (U)

Cédric Delfosse <cedric@debian.org>
boa-constructor
drpython
pyro
pythoncad

Joe Drew <drew@debian.org>
gdesklets-data (U)

Edd Dumbill <ejad@debian.org>
gdesklets-data (U)

Jarno Elonen <elonen@debian.org>
memaid-pyqt

Mohammed Elzubeir <elzubeir@arabeyes.org>
duali

Florian Ernst <florian@debian.org>
blender (U)

Baruch Even <baruch@debian.org>
hocr (U)
libhdate (U)
rubber (U)

Alexandre Fayolle <afayolle@debian.org>
pyqonsole
xmldiff

Bartosz Fenski <fenio@debian.org>
adesklets
pypanel

Gustavo Franco <stratus@debian.org>
alacarte
gdebi
gdebi (U)

Peter S Galbraith <psg@debian.org>
imgsizer

Radovan Garabík <garabik@kassiopeia.juls.savba.sk>
pyftpd

David Moreno Garza <damog@debian.org>
gnome-schedule

Julian Gilbey <jdg@debian.org>
mftrace

John Goerzen <jgoerzen@complete.org>
forg

Steve Greenland <stevegr@debian.org>
positron

Bjorn Ove Grotan <bgrotan@grotan.com>
pyrad

Progeny Debian Packaging Group <debian-packages@progeny.com>
picax

Debian QA Group <packages@qa.debian.org>
eroaster
galternatives
iceme
icepref
python-gnome
qtorrent
radiuscontext
spe
synopsis
xtalk

Chris Halls <halls@debian.org>
apt-proxy (U)

Adam Heath <doogie@brainfood.com>
xen

Joey Hess <joeyh@debian.org>
rss2email

Wouter van Heyst <larstiq@larstiq.dyndns.org>
blender (U)

Henrique de Moraes Holschuh <hmh@debian.org>
hplip

Michael Janssen <jamuraa@debian.org>
bittorrent
codeville

Arto Jantunen <viiru@debian.org>
moosic

Joerg Jaspert <joerg@debian.org>
dak

Arthur de Jong <adejong@debian.org>
webcheck

Takuo KITAME <kitame@debian.org>
gdesklets-data (U)

Lior Kaplan <kaplan@debian.org>
hocr (U)
libhdate (U)

Matthias Klose <doko@debian.org>
kiki
kodos
pype
python-numeric
svn-workbench
translate-toolkit

Anand Kumria <wildfire@progsoc.org>
pybaz
stgit
yum

Arnaud Kyheng <Arnaud.Kyheng@free.fr>
libextractor-python (U)

Torsten Landschoff <torsten@debian.org>
hplip (U)

Andrew Lau <netsnipe@users.sourceforge.net>
gdesklets-data (U)

Chris Lawrence <lawrencc@debian.org>
routeplanner

Jeff Licquia <licquia@progeny.com>
picax (U)

Julien Louis <ptitlouis@sysif.net>
epylog (U)

Debian Blender Maintainers <pkg-blender-maintainers@lists.alioth.debian.org>
blender

Debian GNOME Maintainers <pkg-gnome-maintainers@lists.alioth.debian.org>
gdesklets-data (U)

Jordi Mallach <jordi@debian.org>
gdesklets-data (U)

Jordan Mantha <mantha@ubuntu.com>
gausssum

Torsten Marek <shlomme@debian.org>
eric

Carlos Perelló Marín <carlos@pemas.net>
gdesklets-data (U)

Robert McQueen <robot101@debian.org>
gdesklets-data (U)

Ricardo Javier Cardenes Medina <rcardenes@debian.org>
fnorb

A Mennucc1 <mennucc1@debian.org>
sql-editor

Martin Michlmayr <tbm@cyrius.com>
jack (U)

Loic Minier <lool@dooz.org>
flumotion
gdesklets-data (U)
pitivi

Andrew Mitchell <ajmitch@debian.org>
pyflakes

David Martínez Moreno <ender@debian.org>
k3d
ocfs2-tools
viewcvs

Josselin Mouette <joss@debian.org>
gdesklets-data (U)
nicotine
solarwolf
tessa

Toni Mueller <toni@debian.org>
roundup

Matthew Palmer <mpalmer@debian.org>
guml

Drew Parsons <dparsons@debian.org>
ntlmaps

Guilherme de S. Pastore <guilherme.pastore@terra.com.br>
gdesklets-data (U)

Javier Fernandez-Sanguino Pen~a <jfs@computer.org>
spkproxy

Víctor Pérez Pereira <vperez@debianvenezuela.org>
scanerrlog

Frederic Peters <fpeters@debian.org>
gnome-blog

Franz Pletz <fpletz@franz-pletz.org>
pympd

Ari Pollak <ari@debian.org>
gimp
streamtuner

Mark Purcell <msp@debian.org>
pykdeextensions (U)

Florian Ragwitz <rafl@debian.org>
istanbul (U)
pyntor

Johannes Rohr <jr.debian@rohr.org>
gdesklets-data (U)

Andreas Rottmann <rotty@debian.org>
gdesklets-data (U)

Ludovic Rousseau <rousseau@debian.org>
plucker

Miriam Ruiz <little_miry@yahoo.es>
pykaraoke
treeline

Andres Salomon <dilinger@debian.org>
trac (U)

Otavio Salvador <otavio@debian.org>
apt-proxy
epylog (U)
trac (U)

Roberto C. Sanchez <roberto@familiasanchez.net>
releaseforge

David Schleef <ds@schleef.org>
scigraphica

Erich Schubert <erich@debian.org>
pyroman

Gustavo Noronha Silva <kov@debian.org>
gdesklets-data (U)
pyprotocols
ruledispatch

Sjoerd Simons <sjoerd@debian.org>
gdesklets-data (U)

Jose Carlos Garcia Sogo <jsogo@debian.org>
gdesklets-data (U)

Emil Soleyman-Zomalan <emil@nishra.com>
gdesklets-data (U)

Jeremy Stanley <fungi@yuggoth.org>
weather-util

Clément Stenac <zorglub@debian.org>
gdesklets-data

Michael Stilkerich <ms@mike2k.de>
fvwm-crystal

Ondřej Surý <ondrej@debian.org>
gdesklets-data (U)

Brian Sutherland <jinty@web.de>
zpkg

Akira TAGOH <tagoh@debian.org>
gdesklets-data (U)

Reinhard Tartler <siretart@tauware.de>
londonlaw

Monty Taylor <mordred@inaugust.com>
plywood

Debian KDE Extras Team <pkg-kde-extras@lists.alioth.debian.org>
pykdeextensions

Debian Python Modules Team <python-modules-team@lists.alioth.debian.org>
pyprotocols (U)

Debian Hebrew Packaging Team <debian-hebrew-package@lists.alioth.debian.org>
hocr
libhdate

Debian Xen Team <pkg-xen-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>
xen-3.0

Andreas Tille <tille@debian.org>
gnumed-client

James A. Treacy <treacy@debian.org>
gramps

Guido Trotter <ultrotter@debian.org>
xen-3.0 (U)

James Troup <james@nocrew.org>
dak (U)

Aaron M. Ucko <ucko@debian.org>
bitpim

Julien Valroff <julien@kirya.net>
freeloader

Tiago Bortoletto Vaz <tiago@debian-ba.org>
epylog

James Vega <jamessan@debian.org>
supybot

Thomas Viehmann <tv@beamnet.de>
mini-dinstall

Tommi Virtanen <tv@debian.org>
mailping
mc-foo
scalemail
toursst

Michael Vogt <mvo@debian.org>
gdebi (U)

Chad Walstrom <chewie@debian.org>
codeville (U)

Colin Watson <cjwatson@debian.org>
germinate

David Watson <david@planetwatson.co.uk>
geximon

Graham Williams <Graham.Williams@togaware.com>
wajig

Alexander Wirt <formorer@debian.org>
pytone

Joe Wreschnig <piman@debian.org>
quodlibet

Sam Hocevar (Debian packages) deb@zoy.org>
gco

Michal Čihař <michal@cihar.com>
wammu

Cheers,
– Raphaël Hertzog Premier livre français sur Debian GNU/Linux : http://www.ouaza.com/livre/admin-debian/

No Response to “News from the python policy transition” »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Debian-News is not related to the Debian Project.
All logos and trademarks on this site are property of their respective owners.