Debian-news is about one simple thing - news about Debian GNU/Linux and the top free distributions based on Debian GNU/Linux.


Debian and Ubuntu runlevels

Debianadmin have a small overview article about runlevels – what are they and how to change them.
Read it here


Linux run levels are numbered 0 through 6. Run levels stop at six for practical and historical reasons, but it is entirely possible to have more if desired.

The following table summarizes the User Linux run levels:

* 0 System Halt
* 1 Single user
* 2 Full multi-user mode (Default)
* 3-5 Same as 2
* 6 System Reboot

No Response to “Debian and Ubuntu runlevels” »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Debian-News is not related to the Debian Project.
All logos and trademarks on this site are property of their respective owners.