Debian-news is about one simple thing - news about Debian GNU/Linux and the top free distributions based on Debian GNU/Linux.


 

New dpkg in experimental

The work is finished and thus we decided to upload it to experimental to
have some broader testing before releasing it into unstable.
Hi,

there's new a dpkg version in experimental: 1.14.7~newshlib.
It's a snapshot of the dpkg-shlibdeps-buxy branch which contains my work
to enhance dpkg-shlibdeps with symbol-based dependencies.
See http://wiki.debian.org/Projects/ImprovedDpkgShlibdeps for some
background and history.

The work is finished and thus we decided to upload it to experimental to
have some broader testing before releasing it into unstable. The current
plan is the following:
- in a few days, 1.14.7 will be released in unstable _without_ this work
- immediately after the 1.14.7 release, the branch will be merged and
I'll upload 1.14.8~newshlib to experimental.
- sometimes later 1.14.8 is released and the new dpkg-shlibdeps gets into
unstable

So please test this version. While rewriting/improving dpkg-shlibdeps I dealt
with all the outstanding bugs and I made it a bit more strict. Most
notably, packages which generate the warning “unable to find dependency
information for shared library” will FTBFS. You'll find a list at the end
of this mail. In most cases, you only need to generate the “shlibs” files
before calling dpkg-shlibdeps and it will fix the problem. In some cases,
this change might lead to self-dependency. If that happens you'll have to
wait until dpkg 1.14.8 comes out after which you'll be able to use the new
“-x ” option of dpkg-shlibdeps to strip out the self-dependency (I
already suggested this default behaviour for debhelper's dh_shlibdeps, see
#443973).

The goal of the test period is to make sure that the behaviour of
dpkg-shlibdeps is still correct with plain shlibs file, but given that it
supports “symbols” files, it's time to think of how we're going to add
support of that to our packages. Generating “symbols” files require adding
a call to dpkg-gensymbols (see its manpage in the package) in
debian/rules. It will probably need to be integrated in debhelper
somewhere (see my request at #443978). Feel free to give your opinion by
replying on debian-devel.

Also, once we have all those details sorted out, I'd like help to
make it a release goal for libraries with more than X reverse dependencies
to provide symbols files (X is to be defined of course).

I'd like to thank Guillem Jover and Frank Lichtenheld for their help in
integrating my work in dpkg and Steve Langasek for the numerous advices.

List of packages that FTBFS with the new dpkg:
———————————————-
Guenter Geiger (Debian/GNU) <geiger@debian.org>
ardour (U)

J.H.M. Dassen (Ray) <jdassen@debian.org>
libgsf

Domenico Andreoli <cavok@debian.org>
boost (U)

Michael Banck <mbanck@debian.org>
openbabel

Daniel Baumann <daniel@debian.org>
gnunet-gtk (U)
gnunet-qt (U)

CJ van den Berg <cj@vdbonline.com>
pulseaudio

Eduard Bloch <blade@debian.org>
encfs

John Bovey <jdb@kent.ac.uk>
libnjb

Ludovic Brenta <lbrenta@debian.org>
gnat-4.2 (U)

Paul Cager <paul-debian@home.paulcager.org>
afnix

Patrick Caulfield <patrick@debian.org>
dnprogs

Pierre Chifflier <pollux@debian.org>
nufw

Debian Boost Team <pkg-boost-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>
boost

Debian GCC Maintainers <debian-gcc@lists.debian.org>
gcc-snapshot
gnat-4.2

Debian GIS Project <pkg-grass-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>
hdf5

Debian GIS Team <pkg-grass-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>
libterralib

Debian multimedia packages maintainers <pkg-multimedia-maintainers@lists.alioth.debian.org>
vlc

Debian Multimedia Team <debian-multimedia@lists.debian.org>
ardour

Debian Xfce Maintainers <pkg-xfce-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>
xfce4-mixer
xfce4-session

Yavor Doganov <yavor@doganov.org>
projectmanager.app (U)

Free Ekanayaka <freee@debian.org>
ardour (U)

Turbo Fredriksson <turbo@debian.org>
radiusclient

Debian QA Group <packages@qa.debian.org>
nco
plplot

Troy Heber <troyh@debian.org>
subversion (U)

Florian Hinzmann <fh@debian.org>
xfmail

Simon Huggins <huggie@earth.li>
xfce4-mixer (U)
xfce4-session (U)

Shaun Jackman <sjackman@debian.org>
dmx4linux

Ian Jackson <ian@davenant.greenend.org.uk>
chiark-tcl

Robert Jordens <jordens@debian.org>
ardour (U)

Martin Kittel <debian@martin-kittel.de>
maxdb-7.5.00

Matthias Klose <doko@debian.org>
gcc-snapshot (U)
maxdb-7.5.00 (U)

Tomohiro KUBOTA <kubota@debian.org>
mlterm

Arnaud Kyheng <Arnaud.Kyheng@free.fr>
gnunet-gtk
gnunet-qt

Chris Leishman <masklin@debian.org>
xmlrpc-c

John Lightsey <lightsey@debian.org>
xmms-goom

Martin Loschwitz <madkiss@debian.org>
xfce4-mixer (U)
xfce4-session (U)

Francesco Paolo Lovergine <frankie@debian.org>
hdf5 (U)

Ola Lundqvist <opal@debian.org>
vzctl

Marcelo E. Magallon <mmagallo@debian.org>
mesa-legacy

Rene Mayrhofer <rene.mayrhofer@gibraltar.at>
gibraltar-bootcd

Robert McQueen <robot101@debian.org>
pidgin

Loic Minier <lool@dooz.org>
vlc (U)

Kenshi Muto <kmuto@debian.org>
mlterm (U)

Christophe Mutricy <xtophe@videolan.org>
vlc (U)

Alvaro Lopez Ortega <alvaro@gnu.org>
cherokee (U)

Sam Hocevar (Debian packages) deb@zoy.org>
vlc (U)

Guilherme de S. Pastore <gpastore@debian.org>
subversion (U)

Yves-Alexis Perez <corsac@corsac.net>
xfce4-mixer (U)
xfce4-session (U)

Frederic Peters <fpeters@debian.org>
wireshark

Ari Pollak <ari@debian.org>
pidgin (U)

Christophe Prud'homme <prudhomm@debian.org>
boost (U)

Petter Reinholdtsen <pere@debian.org>
libterralib (U)

Steve M. Robbins <smr@debian.org>
boost (U)

Emanuele Rocca <ema@debian.org>
xfce4-mixer (U)
xfce4-session (U)

Miriam Ruiz <little_miry@yahoo.es>
gnash

Nick Rusnov <nickrusnov@debian.org>
galan

Alexander Sack <asac@jwsdot.com>
gnash (U)

Peter Samuelson <peter@p12n.org>
subversion

Thomas Schoepf <schoepf@debian.org>
suspend2-userui

Gürkan Sengün <gurkan@linuks.mine.nu>
adun.app
projectmanager.app
wrapperfactory.app

Sjoerd Simons <sjoerd@debian.org>
pulseaudio (U)

Roger So <rogerso@debian.org>
im-sdk
im-sdk (U)

Manoj Srivastava <srivasta@debian.org>
libsemanage

Riccardo Stagni <unriccio@email.it>
qingy

Clément Stenac <zorglub@debian.org>
vlc (U)

Paul J Stevens <paul@nfg.nl>
cpu (U)

Akira TAGOH <tagoh@debian.org>
im-sdk (U)

Guido Trotter <ultrotter@debian.org>
cpu

Andrea Veri <bluekuja@ubuntu.com>
verlihub

Santiago Vila <sanvila@debian.org>
gettext

Michael Vogt <mvo@debian.org>
libxbase
vdkbuilder2
xdb

Sune Vuorela <debian@pusling.com>
kommando

Florian M. Weps <fmw@debian.org>
oo2c

Patrick Winnertz <patrick.winnertz@skolelinux.org>
lmms

Gunnar Wolf <gwolf@debian.org>
cherokee

Milan Zamazal <pdm@debian.org>
scanbuttond
speech-dispatcher

– Raphaël Hertzog Premier livre français sur Debian GNU/Linux : http://www.ouaza.com/livre/admin-debian/

No Response to “New dpkg in experimental” »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Debian-News is not related to the Debian Project.
All logos and trademarks on this site are property of their respective owners.