Debian-news is about one simple thing - news about Debian GNU/Linux and the top free distributions based on Debian GNU/Linux.


McIntyre vs. Zacchiroli in Debian Leadership Battle

Two developers have entered the race for the Debian Project Leadership. New candidate Stephano “Zack” Zacchiroli is challenging current leader Steve McIntyre, who is running for a second term in office. More here

First-time candidate Stephano “Zack” Zacchiroli has been a Debian developer since 2001. “My Debian involvement has been through two distinct phases. In the first one I only cared about my packages, ignoring the community: no IRC, no -devel subscription, etc. Then, at LinuxTag 2004, I discovered Debian as a community and got fascinated by it, gradually increasing my involvement in the project” he says. Zacchiroli is a researcher at the Diderot University in Paris, which he describes as a contributors nest for the French Debian community. If elected, he wants to make Debian more accessible for contributions from outside the community and he too desires better communication at Debian and promises more personal meetings. Dealing with what he calls vocal minorities is also on his to-do list, and in a probable reference to the unrest that lead to the previous secretary stepping down prior to the Lenny release, Zacchiroli says, “Our mailing lists have substantially improved over the last 5 years. Every now and then though, they get polluted by (apparently) very vocal minorities capable of polarizing discussions, which is neither productive, nor fun.”

No Response to “McIntyre vs. Zacchiroli in Debian Leadership Battle” »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Debian-News is not related to the Debian Project.
All logos and trademarks on this site are property of their respective owners.