Debian-news is about one simple thing - news about Debian GNU/Linux and the top free distributions based on Debian GNU/Linux.


delegation for the Policy Editors

Dear project members, 6 years after the last one, it’s time to update the delegation for the Debian Policy Editors, that is the team of delegates responsible for guiding the policy change process on the -policy list.

The changes to the team are:

– Andrew McMillan, Colin Watson, and Manoj Srivastava step down as
policy editors. They deserve many thanks from all of us, for their
long running contributions to the Debian Policy manual and process.

– Charles Plessy, after several years of well-respected and appreciated
contributions to the Debian Policy via the -policy list, becomes an
editor. Good luck to him for the important work ahead.

(Andreas Barth, Bill Allombert, and Russ Allombert have confirmed their
interest in working as editors and remain on board.)

Below, you can find a formal delegation, listing all current policy
editors. The delegation comes with a task description, prepared in
collaboration with the editors, which details the responsibility of the
delegates with respect to the broader team active on the -policy list
(executive summary: the editors interpret consensus, rather than
deciding in full autonomy).

For more information about the Debian Policy team, have a look at the
team page:



Policy Editors delegation

I hereby appoint the following developers as Policy Editors:

– Andreas Barth (aba)
– Bill Allombert (ballombe)
– Charles Plessy (plessy)
– Russ Allbery (rra)

Any previous Debian Policy delegation, not explicitly listed above, is
revoked. The delegation is not time-limited. It will be effective until
further changes by present or future DPLs.

Task Description

The Debian Policy team is responsible for maintaining and coordinating
updates to the Debian Policy Manual and all the other policy documents
released as part of the “debian-policy” package.

The Debian Policy Editors:

– Guide the work on the Debian Policy Manual and related documents as a
collaborative process where developers review and second or object to
proposals, usually on the debian-policy mailing list [1].


– Count seconds and weight objections to proposals, to determine whether
they have reached sufficient consensus to be included, and accept
consensual proposals.

– Reject or refer to the Technical Committee proposals that fail to
reach consensus.

– Commit changes to the version control system repository used to
maintain the Debian Policy Manual and related documents.

– Maintain the “debian-policy” package. As package maintainers, they
have the last word on package content, releases, bug reports, etc.


Stefano Zacchiroli . . . . . . . . . . . o . . . o . o
Maître de conférences . . . . . . . . o . . . o o
Debian Project Leader . . . . . . @zack on . . o o o . . . o .
« the first rule of tautology club is the first rule of tautology club »

No Response to “delegation for the Policy Editors” »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Debian-News is not related to the Debian Project.
All logos and trademarks on this site are property of their respective owners.